IFS…Week 3?

Originally I wanted to keep a weekly journal of IFS. Well that’s not happening. I can’t do it during the week because if I am awake, I am studying, if I am not studying I am flying.

That leaves the weekend to do what I can. Last weekend…was not in the mood.

This week I flew everyday. I got better each flight and I still have a lot of work to do. I changed IP’s on Wednesday and I learned more with this guy in about thirty minutes than I did in four full flights with my old IP. I was actually excited to fly my rides with this IP. That doesn’t make me a better pilot and he certainly doesn’t let me off the hook when I am an idiot. However, he does understand that I am not a pilot and flying is not second nature to me. Some of these IPs have more time in a plane than they do sleeping. This make them assume you know a crap-ton more than you do. After talking with a bunch of students here and some of my friends I think it all boils down to your IP.

I will post later on any tips in tricks for IFS, but I will only do that if I freaking graduate from this place. A lot is riding on my flights next week so it will be kind of stressful.

Overall it was a decent week at IFS. The flying is all we have to focus on now. Before it has been a combination of flying and studying academics for tests we finished up this week. Next week we start our formal brief at 0510 everyday…joy. Looking forward to unwinding a little bit this weekend, but then its back to work. I am looking forward to working my ass off this coming week to get back to my Wife. She is the most supportive and amazing person in the world and I would do anything for her. I could write endless pages on the angel God gave me, my wife, but that will have to wait till after IFS.

There is some gathering/party tonight hosted by the IPs. I am going to go to that until something turns me off to the whole thing…like guys discussing why they won’t fly the F-22 as opposed to the F-16…blah blah blah. Right now I am a freaking DA-20 Pilot until the Air Force says otherwise. Not saying thats my goal by any means, but thats what I am as of now…

Apparently the “S” in IFS, screening, starts next week. So some people may be going home, quitting, or graduating. I’ll keep you posted.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

